Korea and study fair

Yet another week passed. Waking up problems still occur. Haven’t found a solution. Maybe it will get better soon. I’ve been trying to be merciful for myself. There has been lots of changes lately. First, I came to Hong Kong. I haven’t really gone through the “honeymoon phase” of culture shock. The one where everything is super cool. I think I’m just so used to Asia already. I also had to move out from my current apartment, which is a stress, but in a way relief that my next apartment is not shared anymore. Yay!

I’m currently in South Korea. I came here for a business trip and today visited a study fair. I’ve been working hard and preparing for the trip, but now it’s finally happening. I will see the fruits of my labor. Being in Korea actually feels really good. Right after I left the airport, I’ve been feeling much better. Not sure why, but it could be because I’ve been in Korea so many times and I have friends here so the emotional connection is much stronger than in Hong Kong, where I’m first time.

 

Today I was able to meet many students who were interested in studying in Finland. Although I’m not working for any Finnish university, with my background being working in one and having friends who studied in Finland, I could answer all the tricky questions about what is required, how much is tuition and where who can study and what. Mainly people were speaking English, but in few cases I had to use my (bad) Korean and explain the some basics about studying in Finland. It was actually quite fun. I could do that more. Maybe even for living. I also met few people who had studied in Finland. It was very interesting.

messut-photo

I’ve also been enjoying Korean food. It does taste so much different than Korean food in Hong Kong. Or Finland. Much better here. I should come here more often. Maybe in future, I get to travel to Korea more often.

Next week is going to be very active. I have to be looking for new clients and meet new partners. I’ve done telemarketing before, but this kind of marketing or sales is a new experience for me. Luckily I get to be in a familiar culture. It’s going to be a really good experience for me.

I still would like to meet few friends while I’m in Seoul. I hope they have time to meet me. I hope that I will have time to meet them. Huh huh.

I’m not really sure what to think about the education market in Finland. What I have talked with people, it would seem that Finland still hasn’t understood that they have to start marketing our universities for paying customers. What I understood, that up until now, when there hasn’t been tuition fees for international students, universities haven’t been interested in getting many students. There hasn’t been need, because having many students would only bring more work, but not more money. Although there would have been lots of potential students to come to Finland to study. But from this year fall, non-EU students have to start pay tuition fees. It changes the game radically. Now universities really have to think where to get paying quality students. Let’s just hope that they understand it sooner than later. For now, I’m happy that I’m working for an agency and not for a university.

Shorter text than normally. I’ll report on my Korea trip next week!

Lauri

Leave a comment